Twist will be 3 years old on Nov 17th! Mark the date!

Even though I know that Twist was born in 1852 in the world of the books, I happen to also know the exact night that I first began to write about my darling boy.  Twist has brought nothing but joy to my life since that fateful day.  Unfortunately, meeting me has brought him tremendous amounts of terror, pain, and sogginess.  His life was perfectly simple when he was alone with his clocks.  Still, considering all the good things he’s gotten by leaving home with Arabel, I think even Twist would agree that we have bettered each other over the years.

So, you ask, how do I manage to remember the first time I ever wrote of my darling Twist?  Well, let me tell you.  I had been trying to come up with a Steampunk story for a while, but I just didn’t have a strong enough idea of what I wanted to write.  Meanwhile, I heard that a local university was putting on a production of Twelfth Night, done fully in a Steampunk style.  Naturally, had to go.  I saw the play on Nov 17th, 2010, and I was blown away.  It was an amazing rendition of the old classic, and it was Steampunk to the core, complete with goggles, pirates,  transvestism, clockwork, and an Abney Park soundtrack.  Honestly, one of the best plays I’ve seen, and I’ve been to a fair few.

Inspired, my head still buzzing from the amazing play, I went home and wrote the first two chapters of Waking, and met Twist for the very first time.  I remember looking at those first few pages (which have never really changed from that first version) and realizing that I was looking at something that would change my life.  I could tell, right there in his quiet little attic, that Twist was going to take me on an adventure that would be leaps and bounds beyond everything I’d ever written before.  I’ve been writing for over 16 years now, but never anything as good as Twist.  And so far, he’s lived up to all of his heady and exciting promises.

twist is 2Since I kept my ticket stub for the play, I’ll always remember my darling’s birthday.  I usually celebrate it by my self, with a piece of cake and a copy of those first few pages.  But I would love nothing more than if others would celebrate with me!  This year I plan to release a special edition of Waking on Twist’s birthday, hopefully for free.  And if you’ve bought an eBook copy from any store, you’ll be able to download the new version for free as well on the same day.  Fingers crossed I can get that together by November.

So, mark the date!  Even if you just take your copy of Waking out to cake or ice cream, or if you’re artsy enough to do a bit a of fan art or something, take a photo and send it to me!!  Let’s make the day special for our introverted little hero.

Leave a Reply

