Come to a Steampunk gathering in San Jose, for First Friday!

That’s right, I’m going to be featured as a local author at a First Friday event!

IMG_9500-2

As a huge fan of the local SJ art scene, I’m over the moon to have become a part of it.  If you’re new to San Jose (or aren’t from the area at all) First Friday is my very favorite thing about my hometown.  It’s a big art party that fills the streets (1st street, anyway) with live art, vegan eats, great music, and makers galore on the first Friday of every month.

Sometimes it’s more sedate with only the galleries open late and a few die-hard artsy types hunched over their take-away cappuccinos as they brave the winter winds to see the latest local inspiration, and sometimes it’s a carnival of creativity, color, and chaos that falls over downtown San Jose like a magical dream.  This time, it looks like it will be fantastic!

And this time, Sept 6th, I will be present not only as a fan, but as an artist myself!  *faints from the shock*

And my Mom will be there too!   We’ll both be set up at the Discover San Jose store, from 7 to 9pm, signing our books in the middle of a steampunk soiree.  So, if you love local art, steampunky goodies, a good read, or even just want to snatch some free tea and biscuits, then grab your top hat, strap on those goggles, and come fraternize with the local color before you trot off to enjoy the rest of the evening’s delights.  We might even be persuaded to do some readings here and there…  (I’ll give you $5 to read my book for me)

You can find directions to the store here.  Once again, this will be happening on Friday Sept 6th, from 7pm to 9pm.  After 9, I’m skipping off to catch the last of the artsy stuff as well.  Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

