Wayang Golek, beautiful Indonesian puppets.

2701539740_4aa3feec97Since I’d rather not give away some interesting plot points that will appear in later books of the Clockwork Twist series, I’m not going to explain why I used Indonesian culture as inspiration for the design of a character that first appears in Nepal.  I just did.  I promise it’ll all become clear in the 12th book.

While puppetry appears as an art form in many cultures, I have to say that the wayang galek (Indonesian style wooden doll puppets) are my favorite style.

ed002

Just look at these beautiful examples!  These gorgeous puppets have such grace and whimsy to them, that I honestly got the idea for a dancing clockwork puppet directly from them.  Naturally, the idea changed a great deal as I got into the story, and I’ve never found a wayang galek made of clockwork.

There are many kinds of “wayang” puppets.  There is a silhouette style made of metal, called wayang kulit, which have a much more Hinduistic look to them, leading some to believe that this art form came to Indonesia from India or China.

wayang_golek_p61All I know for sure is that I these puppets are truly captivating.  I imagine Myra would have loved to watch them as a child.

If you’d like to learn more, try these links.

Major Wayang Galek Charater Types

Walter O. Koenig’s “brief intro” and gallery

http://www.wayanggolek.nl/

And of course, the Wiki page

Leave a Reply

